CRP Grant Funding

First CRP Awards Meeting to take place

ICGEB will be holding its first CRP Awardees meeting in Cape Town, South Africa, from 5-7 November 2024.

This event is intended to bring together all of the African recipients of ongoing ICGEB Collaborative Research Proposal (CRP) awards, with a view to expanding collaboration and networking across the Continent and will involve both scientific and governmental institutions.

Current CRP holders in Africa include 37 Principal Investigators from across 16 African Nations (Algeria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gambia, Kenya, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa, Tanzania and Togo).

Invitees also include all CRP holders at Historically Disadvantaged Institutions (HDI): 10 awardees from six institutes across South Africa (University of the Western Cape, Walter Sisulu University, University of Fort Hare, Mangosuthu University of Technology, and the Universities of Venda and Limpopo).

The first initiative of its kind, ICGEB anticipates similar events in future, with the prospect greatly strengthening collaborative ties and knowledge exchange amongst the network of CRP recipients in different fields of expertise across Regional hubs.