New Delhi, India

The Delhi component is located within the ICGEB Campus in South Delhi, which comprises an area of approximately 16 acres. It is situated alongside the Jawaharlal Nehru University and the Sanjay Van in a bush forest area and is close to the NII and NIPGR. The Laboratories comprise a main building, a Guest house facility, Bioexperimentation Unit, BSL-3 Facility, and a number of greenhouses for agriculture related research.

ICGEB New Delhi has 25 Research Groups. The Component also has a flourishing PhD programme in association with the Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) and at any given time has up to 100 PhD students.  ICGEB PIs have obtained research grants from national funding agencies as well as extra-mural funds from international agencies, such as The Wellcome Trust, European Malaria Vaccine Initiative, European Commission, International Aids Vacine Initiative, National Institute of Health, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Dupont and Pepsico. 

An innovative collaboration programme has also been established with the Emory Global Vaccine Centre that focuses on the development of vaccines against diseases such as tuberculosis and malaria.

ICGEB Campus
Aruna Asaf Ali Marg
110 067 New Delhi
Tel: +91-11-26741358/1007
Fax: +91-11-26742316



Dinakar M. Salunke
Director, New Delhi Component
Tel: +91-11-26742317
Fax: +91-11-26742316

Hema Adhikari Personal Assistant to the Director


Biju Mathew
Administrative Officer

Valorisation of ICGEB Intellectual Property

Nidhi Datta
Senior Programme Assistant


Praveen Rai
Procurement Manager

Surya Prakash Rawat
Senior Procurement Assistant

Sumit Hasija
Procurement Assistant

Sidharth Uniyal
Procurement Assistant

Extrabudgetary Projects & Donor Relations

Bharat Bhushan Singh
Senior Programme Assistant

Inderjeet Kaur Programme Assistant

Bioexperimentation Facility

Shivam Chaturvedi Animal House In-charge

Ashok Das Technician

Rakesh Kumar Technician

Rashmi Ranjan Patra

Munna Turi

Central Facilities

Purnima Kumar

Research Technician

Rhamesh Kumar Sharma


Rajiv Som

Rafik Mohd


Tenzin Jamling

Research Associate

IT Service

Ravindra Kumar Ravi
Computer System Administrator

Mayank Gupta
Programme Assistant

Shrawan Kumar
Programme Assistant

Safety & Security

Neeti Sanan Mishra
Biosafety Officer

Naseem Gaur
Radio Safety Officer

Varun Gugnani
Equipment & Safety Manager

Tom Mathew


Rakhi Arora
Senior Personnel Assistant

Kawaljeet Kaur
Personnel Assistant

Meetings & Courses

Tina Dias
Senior Programme Assistant

Pratibha Chaturvedi
Programme Assistant

Sachin Mehta
Programme Assistant

Financial Services

Philomena Monthero
Senior Accountant

Babu Kunjamara
 Senior Accounts Assistant

Narinder Ahuja
 Accounts Assistant

Ruchi Arora
Accounts Assistant

Vikram Singh
 Accounts Assistant

Sovan Singh Rawat
 Accounts Clerk

New Delhi Campus

Rashmi Joshia
Administrative Assistant

Joby John
AC & Electrical In-charge

Prashant Kumar
Campus Caretaker

Ramakant Pal

Raj Kumar Gupta

Vijay Yadav

Scientific Faculty

Microbial Engineering
Syed Shams Yazdani

Metabolic Engineering
Shashi Kumar

Omics of Algae
Pavan Jutur

Structural Immunology
Dinakar M. Salunke

Systems Biology for Biofuel
Shireesh Srivastava

Transcriptional Regulation
Neel Sarovar Bhavesh

Translational Bioinformatics
Dinesh Gupta

Yeast Biofuel
Naseem Gaur

Cellular Immunology
Dhiraj Kumar

Emory Vaccine Program
Anmol Chandele

Malaria Biology
Pawan Malhotra

Malaria Drug Discovery
Dinkar Sahal

Membrane Protein Biology
Arockiasamy Arulandu

Parasite Biology
Renu Tuteja

Parasite Cell Biology
Asif Mohmmed

Recombinant Gene Products
Navin Khanna

Structural Parasitology
Amit Sharma

Translational Health
Ranjan Nanda

Vector Borne Diseases
Sujatha Sunil

Crop Improvement
M.K. Reddy

Nutritional Improvement of Crops
Tanushri Kaul

Plant Insect Interaction
Suresh Nair

Plant RNAi Biology
Neeti Sanan-Mishra

Plant Stress Biology
Sneh Lata Singla-Pareek

Plant Transformation
S. Leelavathi