Cape Town, South Africa

Established in September 2007 with the aim to specifically strengthen the ICGEB activities on the African Continent, the focus of the research undertaken at the Cape Town Component is geared to address key needs of the African population. Each activity contains a major training component aimed at tackling some of the key issues identified through the Gates Foundation Millennium Development Goals. Currently, the premises of the ICGEB Cape Town Component cover around 1,200 square metres of the University of Cape Town, Health Science Faculty Campus, and host the activity of three Research Groups. 

Rm S2.19, Wernher and Beit Building (South)
UCT Medical Campus
Anzio Road
Observatory 7925
Cape Town
SOUTH AFRICA
Tel: +27-21-406 6335
Fax: +27-21-406 6060
capetown@icgeb.org

Personnel

Interim Director

Luiz Zerbini, PhD
Cape Town Component
Tel: +27-21-650 7627
Email: luiz.zerbini@icgeb.org director.capetown@icgeb.org

Claudia Russo
PA to the Director
Tel: +27-21-406 6335
Email: claudia.russo@icgeb.org

General Administration

Irene Muriuki
Administrative Officer
Tel: +27-21-404 7687
Email: irene.muriuki@icgeb.org

Nikki Dearham
Accountant
Tel: +27-21-406 7644
Email: nikki.dearham@icgeb.org

Shereen Smith  
Accounts Clerk
Tel: +27-21-650 2212
Email: shereen.smith@icgeb.org

Nurhaan Larnie
Human Resources Assistant
Tel: +27-21-650 6612
Email: nurhaan.larnie@icgeb.org

Karin Trussell 
Procurement Assistant
Tel: +27-21-650 6136
Email: karin.trussell@icgeb.org

Technical Services

Reagon Petersen
Head of Technical Services
Tel: +27-21-650 7688
Email: reagon.petersen@icgeb.org

Justin Henry 
Technician
Tel: +27-21-650 6136
Email: justin.henry@icgeb.org

Scientific Faculty

Biopesticides
Dennis Obonyo Ndolo

Cancer Genomics
Luiz Zerbini

Cytokines and Disease
Frank Brombacher