Cape Town, South Africa

Established in September 2007 with the aim to specifically strengthen the ICGEB activities on the African Continent, the focus of the research undertaken at the Cape Town Component is geared to address key needs of the African population. Each activity contains a major training component aimed at tackling some of the key issues identified through the Gates Foundation Millennium Development Goals. Currently, the premises of the ICGEB Cape Town Component cover around 1,200 square metres of the University of Cape Town, Health Science Faculty Campus, and host the activity of three Research Groups. 

Wernher and Beit Building (South)
UCT Campus
Anzio Road
Observatory 7925
Cape Town
SOUTH AFRICA
Tel: +27-21-4066335
Fax: +27-21-4066060
capetown@icgeb.org

Personnel

Interim Director

Luiz Zerbini, PhD
Cape Town Component
Tel: +27-21-6507627, Fax: +27-21-4066060
Email: luiz.zerbin@icgeb.org, director.capetown@icgeb.org

Claudia Russo
PA to the Director
Tel: +27-21-4066335, Fax: +27-21-4066060
Email: claudia.russo@icgeb.org

General Administration

Irene Muriuki
Administrative Officer
Tel: +27-21-4047687,
Fax: +27-21-4066060
Email: irene.muriuki@icgeb.org

Nurhaan Larnie
Human Resources Assistant
Tel: +27-21-6506612
Email: nurhaan.larnie@icgeb.org

Nikki Dearham
Accountant
Tel: +27-21-4067644
Email: nikki.dearham@icgeb.org

Karin Trussell 
Procurement Assistant
Tel: +27-21-6506136
Email: karin.trussell@icgeb.org

Technical Services

Justin Henry 
Technician
Tel: +27-21-6506136
Email: justin.henry@icgeb.org

Reagon Petersen
Head
Tel: +27-21-6507688,
Fax: +27-21-4066060
Email: reagon.petersen@icgeb.org

Scientific Faculty

Biopesticides
Dennis Obonyo Ndolo

Cancer Genomics
Luiz Zerbini

Cytokines and Disease
Frank Brombacher