Council of Scientific Advisers

The Council of Scientific Advisers (CSA) is composed of fifteen eminent scientists active in the international arena in the Life Sciences. The members of the Council are elected by the Board of Governors, with the Director-General of ICGEB serving as the Secretary. The members of the CSA hold office for a period of three years and are eligible for reappointment for two further periods of three years.

The main functions of the CSA include:

  • reviewing the scientific research activity of each ICGEB Component and reporting back to the Board of Governors;
  • examining the work programme and the budget of the Centre and making recommendations to the Board;
  • assisting the Director General on all substantive, scientific and technical matters concerning the activities of the Centre,

The CSA holds a regular session once a year, generally alternating the meetings between the three Component laboratories in Trieste, New Delhi and Cape Town.

The thirtieth session of the CSA was held in Cape Town, South Africa on 16-17 April 2024.

Current CSA Members

Roger N. Beachy
Department of Biology, Washington University, St. Louis, MO, USA

Ana Denicola
Laboratory of Physical Biochemistry, Institute of Chemical Biology, School of Sciences, University of the Republic, Montevideo, URUGUAY

Marco Foiani
IFOM (FIRC Institute of MolecularOncology), Milan, ITALY

Li Jin
Institute of Genetics, School of Life Sciences, Fudan University, P.R. CHINA

Alexis M. Kalergis
Millennium Institute for Immunology and Immunotherapy, Santiago, CHILE

Angela Gronenborn
School of Medicine

Swanson School of Engineering

Dietrich School of Arts and Sciences

University of Pittsburgh, USA

Jorge Kalil
Laboratory of Immunology, Heart Institute, School of Medicine, University of São Paulo, BRAZIL

Lynne E. Maquat,
Professor, Depts. of Biochemistry & Biophysics, Oncology, & Pediatrics, School of Medicine & Dentistry; Director, Center for RNA Biology; Chair, Graduate Women in Science, Univ. of Rochester, NY, USA

Shekhar C. Mande
Former Director General, Council of Scientific and Industrial Research and Secretary, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, Govt of India, New Delhi, INDIA

Bongani Ndimba
Senior Research Manager (Director) Infruitec-Nietvoorbij
Agricultural Research Council (ARC), SOUTH AFRICA

Rafael Rivera Bustamante
CINVESTAV, IPN-Unidad Irapuato, Genetic Engineering Department, Irapuato, MEXICO

*Richard J. Roberts
New England Biolabs, Ipswich MA, USA

Mohammed Sebaihia University Hassiba Benbouali, Chlef, ALGERIA

Carmen Socaciu
University of Agricultural Sciences and Veterinary Medicine, Cluj-Napoca, ROMANIA

Khatijah Yusoff
Department of Microbiology, Faculty of Science and Environmental Studies, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Selangor, MALAYSIA

Former CSA Members

Sonia Abdelhak, TUNISIA (2009-2015)

Khosrow Adeli, CANADA (2009-2018)

Ahmed Azad, BANGLADESH (1999 – 2007)

Padmanabhan Balaram, INDIA (2006 – 2008)

Francesco Blasi, ITALY (2006-2015)

L. Luca Cavalli Sforza, ITALY (1995 – 2005)

Ananda Chakrabarty, USA (2007 – 2016)

Pierre Chambon, FRANCE (1998 – 2006)

Zhangliang Chen, CHINA (2005 – 2010)

Zodwa Dlamini, SOUTH AFRICA (2018-2022)

Zen-Chuan Fan, CHINA (2017-2019)

Mariano Garcia-Blanco, USA (2011-2022)

Georgi Georgiev, RUSSIA (1995 – 2003)

Vladimir Glisin, SERBIA (2000 – 2008)

Xiaocheng Gu, CHINA (1995 – 2004)

Robert Haselkorn, USA (1998 – 2006)

Luis Herrera Estrella, MEXICO (2000 – 2008)

Luis Herrera Martinez, CUBA (2001 – 2009)

*Timothy Hunt, UK (2005 – 2010)

Muntaser El Tayeb Ibrahim, SUDAN (2004-2013)

Gagandeep Kang, INDIA (2017-2019)

Radovan Komel, SLOVENIA (2004-2013)

*Arthur Kornberg, USA (1995 – 2005)

Alberto Kornblihtt, ARGENTINA (2005-2014)

*Joshua Lederberg, USA (1995 – 2004)

Miguel A. Gomez Lim, MEXICO (2014-2016)

Alexander Makarov, RUSSIA (2013-2023)

Valerie Mizrahi, SOUTH AFRICA (2008-2014)

Hassan Mshinda, U.R. TANZANIA (2014-2016)

Vasey Nyamu Mwaja, KENYA (2016-2018)

Nduka Okafor, NIGERIA (1995 – 2003)

Govindarajan Padmanaban, INDIA (1995 – 2005)

Nicholas Proudfoot, UK (2006-2015)

Rafael Radi, URUGUAY (2010-2019)

Dinakar M. Salunke, INDIA (2012-2015)

Ramesh V. Sonti , INDIA (2020-2022)

Héctor Norberto Torres, ARGENTINA (1995 – 2004)

Pablo Valenzuela, CHILE (1995 – 2000)

Marc Van Montagu, BELGIUM (2007-2013)

Inder Verma, USA (2018-2022)

Mamannamana Vijayan, INDIA (2009-2011)

Brenda Wingfield, SOUTH AFRICA (2015-2017)

Ray Wu, USA (1995 – 1997)

Wei-hua Wu, CHINA (2011-2014)

*Harald zur Hausen, GERMANY (2015-2017)

*Nobel Laureates

For further information

Secretary of the ICGEB Council of Scientific Advisers
Dr. Lawrence Banks
ICGEB Director-General

Secretariat of the CSA
E-mail: [email protected]